Coming into this class as a mathematics major has given me a different perspective on the books and the class as a whole. The reason that I have had and will retain an interest in computer science is because of the logic that is found in computer science and in the field of mathematics. For an area that I am interested in learning more about would fall under the cryptology and algorithm fields. Both of these areas can be covered in math or in computer science so I will try to find them in my math major field but will always continue to learn more languages for programming purposes.

As I move on from this class I believe at the current time that I will do more of a mix of mathematics courses. The mix will include classes that fall under the topics theoretical and applied mathematics. By looking at the previous two sentences you, the reader, can draw the conclusion that I am not a computer science major. I am really a math major with an interest in computer programming, its logic and its languages. The logic that I am referring to is the Booleans. According to Hillis in the Pattern on the Stone, Claude Shannon wrote a paper on how Booleans could be used in computers Boole was a mathematician writing on logic functions. This shows that math and computer science tends to be very much interwoven in most things that we do.

In 9 Algorithms that Changed the Future: the Ingenious Ideas that Drive Today’s Computers by John MacCormick refers to mathematics frequently and on page 168 talks prime numbers as he goes on to talk about RSA (Rivest, Shamir and Adelman) encryption and clock encryption. This shows an interesting area that I could potentially look at with my math understanding and be able to help other computer scientists, along with looking more in-depth into the field of cryptology and algorithms.

For a lot of the math courses that also go with computer science the best I have almost finished all of them but am still interested in doing more with math and combining computer programming together as much as possible. Of the courses that overlap for math majors and computer science majors there are three, Discrete Mathematics, Applied Matrix Theory, and Intro to Probability and Statistics. I would say that I am looking forward to taking Applied Matrix Theory except for the fact that I am concurrently enrolled in this math along with this computer course and in calculus three. Some of the math courses that I am interested in taking, and have not taken yet, are Foundation Analysis, Discrete Mathematics, Intro to Algebraic Systems, and Advanced Ordinary Differential Equations. Some of the math courses listed are considered applied while some are considered pure (theoretical). The most interesting way that I have had applied and pure (theoretical) mathematics explained is by talking about Legos. In How to Bake π: An Edible Exploration of the Mathematics of Mathematics the author, Eugenia Cheng, talks about how the specialized pieces are for the applied mathematics and the blocky Legos are for the pure (theoretical) mathematics.

Another field that I am intrigue by is called category theory, also know as combinatorics. Category theory is helping to divide up the field of mathematics into individual topics and subtopics but being able to keep track of all of the areas and sub areas. Eugenia Cheng does a great job of describing category theory, which I tried to do above, in her book How to Bake π: An Edible Exploration of the Mathematics of Mathematics.

 

Leave a Reply

